December trip #1: Boston + Harvard University

Boston in December might seem crazy but I did it and survived - even though I was sick while I was there.

Mine was a weekend trip, from Friday to Sunday for the Au Pair Weekend Class.

What's a weekend class?

As you know every Au Pair needs to take 6 credits during their year and the APWC is one of the easiest and funniest way to collect 3-6 credits.

My class gave me 3 credits (=45 hours) and for it I had to do some pre and post-assignments and participate to all the activities. Few of them were in the classroom (games or interesting frontal lessons) while most of them were outside to explore the city and its monuments.

I arrived Friday morning and found at the airport Titty - my Italian friend from the Training School - and I met Veronica - another Italian girl that lives in DC like T. 

We stayed at the Hi Boston Hostel for two nights with a lot of other Au Pairs that were attending our class. 

About the class:

The schedule: 

Friday 3.30-9.30PM

Saturday 9AM-8PM

Sunday 9AM - 5PM 

 

It might seem pretty busy and boring, but all these hours are actually very funny and most of the time is spent outside. 
The first day we had a couple of hours all together, where the organizer explained to us how our weekend was going to be. They split us in groups and, after a fun game, we kept having classes separately til dinner time: PIZZA BUFFET!! 

The following day we had one class in the morning and then we went visiting the Bunker Hill Monument. After a short explanation about the history of the place we could chose to climb all the 294 steps to reach the top or to just wait downstairs before getting lunch: BURGER AND FRIES!

In the afternoon we had the best game ever: a photo challenge in Boston. We had to make teams of 5-6 people to explore the city and find all the main monuments. There we had to take funny pictures and collect points. Extra points for the funniest pictures and for having strangers posing with us!  We had a blast!
We didn't win (the prize was a Starbucks gift card for each member of the winning team) but it was definitely the funniest way to discover a city. Here there are some of our pictures - shout out to all the strangers that took pictures with us and to my teammates: Jamie & Tingting! And a big hi to Alice too, she wasn't in our team but we had a lot of fun with her during the weekend (and she went to Walgreens to buy me some pills for my fever - thanks girl!)

The last day each person could chose the place to visit and I went to Harvard!

We took the bus in the morning and arrived there to visit the Harvard Museum of Natural History (we did a quick game in there too) and then we had a wonderful brunch at the cafeteria nearby - my tip: don't put baguette on the toaster cause it'll burn everything. Yep, when it happened to me and I saw the flames coming out of the toaster I just went away, grabbing a chocolate chip cookie pretending it wasn't my fault.

 

At the end of the lunch we headed to the tour of the campus with a young and funny guide that showed us all the buildings, told us nice stories making us laughing very hard.  At 4PM we were done and free to go, we did some shopping (I couldn't go home without an Harvard t-shirt) and we had the famous hot chocolate at Burdick.

Our class was over and so was our weekend - brief but intense and funny!

Scrivi commento

Commenti: 0