The getting ready guide!

-63 days!

Documents

Once you have confirmed your host family you'll need a lot of documents and now I'm preparing all of them.

 

This is what I already have:

  • Passport: it should be valid for the entire period I'll be in the USA;
  • School or University Diploma;
  • Driver's Licence;
  • Criminal Background Check;
  • Insurance Coverage for 13 months;
  • Physician's Health Evaluation.

I'm waiting to get my J-1 Visa, the DS-2019 form and the International Driver's Permit.

Organization

I decided to be organized!

I bought this cute diary on Amazon Prime for less than 10€/11$ That is good for taking notes before leaving and it'll be perfect for my monthly and weekly organization.

Then I bought a very usefull Passport Cover that can carry my flight tickets, my credit car and a pen. You can find it on Amazon Prime too for the same price.

I need to buy new luggage in the next few weeks, because packing for a year needs a looot of space!

Courses

Before leaving for the Training School in New York City I've to do some course activities and to complete a final activity for each course. 
These activities are designed to bring me closer to the real experience of being an au pair.

The activities are divided in four sections:

  1. The stages of childhood development;
  2. Health in the home and a guideline to common childhood ilnesses;
  3. American food and childhood nutrition;
  4. Childrearing in the USA.

Nowadays I've completed the number 2 and 3 of this list and I got the 100% score. I've to do some written activities about this topic before leaving, because we'll discuss them in the Training School.


Scrivi commento

Commenti: 0